Here's how you transfer your PS4 content to your PS4 Pro

Posted on 11/07 14:01 in | 0

The PS4 Pro is nearly here and for those ready to upgrade there's an obvious question - how do you get all your old PS4 stuff onto a PS4 Pro? 

Don't panic. It's actually really, really easy. It might take a bit of time depending on how much stuff you've got to transfer but, once you've switched your new Pro on and signed into PSN, it's only a few button presses to transfer everything over.

Here's how it works: 

In the Ps4 Pro settings menu you'll find the "Transfer Data from Another PS4' option. Click that to get started. 

You'll see a splash screen telling you what you can and can't transfer, specifically users and settings, games and saved data, screenshots and video clips. 

The transfer will take place over your router so you'll need to connect both consoles and make sure you turn them on. 

Hit next and your PS4 Pro will start looking. 

Once your Pro finds your old PS4 you'll need to press the power button on the old console for one second to identify it. 

Once the Pro finds your original PS4 it'll clarify the accounts being copied over, and tell you you'll need to sync your trophy data afterwards. 

Once you've identified the PS4 and accounts you want to copy, you'll have the option of what you actually want to transfer. Chances are you'll want everything, but in case you want a choice you can pick and choose between games, saved data, capture, themes and settings. 

You'll have to wait a while depending on how much stuff you have to transfer. In my case I had 350GB to copy over so, with an estimated time of nines hours, I left it running over night. 

In the morning I switched the PS4 Pro on and everything was there, right down to settings changes I'd made to the share button and the wrong time from when I was trying to trigger hidden endings in the Resident Evil 7 Begining Hour demo. All perfectly copied over. 


Leave a Comment

Captcha image