The Community Spotlight - 08/27/2016

Posted 08/27 23:41 in Reviews | 0comments

The Community Spotlight - 08/27/2016

The community is still reeling from the sparse universe of No Man's Sky as it is still a major talking point.(By: @beardandcompany) What's the one game you're always recommending to people?

Read More

The Community Spotlight - 08/20/2016

Posted 08/21 03:47 in Reviews | 0comments

The Community Spotlight - 08/20/2016

Hello and welcome to the latest edition of the Giant Bomb Community Spotlight and I, @zombiepie, am once again honored to be your host this week.] (Not a Guild) (By: @madman356647) madman356647 is trying to create a Giant Bomb "Newbie Brigade" for WoW, for newcomers interested in Legion!

Read More

Guest Column: On Monsters, Role Playing, and Blackness

Posted 08/16 13:46 in Reviews | 0comments

Guest Column: On Monsters, Role Playing, and Blackness

He's a fragile and delicate egg lookin'-ass elf boy: It would have been easy.Growing up, people called me "one of the good ones" with startling regularity.

Read More

The Community Spotlight - 08/13/2016

Posted 08/14 10:41 in Reviews | 0comments

The Community Spotlight - 08/13/2016

Joshing aside, the community had plenty to show this week between the highly anticipated release of No Man's Sky and The International.No Man's Sky Help, Tips, and Tricks Sharing Thread (By: @bofooq) What are the tips, tricks, and hints that you have for people just starting to play No Man's Sky?

Read More

Live Orchestra Celebrates Our Annoying Mario Maker Level

Posted 08/13 09:11 in Reviews | 0comments

Live Orchestra Celebrates Our Annoying Mario Maker Level

The Giant Bomb community created a work of art during our first installment of Giant Bomb Makes Mario, and it's apparently inspired others from the world of fine arts.Montreal's L'Orchestre de Jeux has performed numerous live renditions of classic tunes from Zelda, Kirby, Donkey Kong, and more, and their most recent video showcases "The Giant Bomb Level.

Read More

The Community Spotlight - 08/06/2016

Posted 08/06 23:53 in Reviews | 0comments

The Community Spotlight - 08/06/2016

Hello and welcome to another wonderful edition of the Giant Bomb Community Spotlight and I, @zombiepie, am once again honored to be your host this week.Now, before we move onto the latest site related news or summary on the best offerings of the Giant bomb Community let's briefly touch upon on major bit of news.

Read More

The Community Spotlight - 07/31/2016

Posted 07/31 16:08 in Reviews | 0comments

The Community Spotlight - 07/31/2016

Hello and welcome to the latest edition of the Giant Bomb Community Spotlight and I, @zombiepie, am once again honored to be your host this week.As the doldrums of Autumn draw nigh things are about to get interesting in the world of video games.

Read More

The Community Spotlight - 07/30/2016

Posted 07/31 16:03 in Reviews | 0comments

The Community Spotlight - 07/30/2016

Hello and welcome to the latest edition of the Giant Bomb Community Spotlight and I, @zombiepie, am once again honored to be your host this week.Mepsipax's latest supercut compiles all of the times Dan mispronounced "nuclear" during Metal Gear Scanlon.

Read More

Guest Column: Card Deck Narratives

Posted 07/23 16:47 in Reviews | 0comments

Guest Column: Card Deck Narratives

In building game narratives, we usually hang story information off the mechanical elements of the game.But many games have mechanical elements that players encounter in a random or semi-random order, precluding conventional narrative.

Read More

The cast: Live and In Color, Starting July 26, 2016

Posted 07/23 16:47 in Reviews | 0comments

The cast: Live and In Color, Starting July 26, 2016

Next week we'll begin live broadcasting video of the Giant Bombcast for Giant Bomb Premium Members.That means that you'll get some breaks in the broadcast, you'll hear the music get laid in live, and the ad breaks will be present in the live version of the video.

Read More

Nintendo to Sell Tiny Nintendos This November

Posted 07/15 23:16 in Reviews | 0comments

Nintendo to Sell Tiny Nintendos This November

It'll will play 30 games and retail for $60.It'll have an HDMI port on it, so you can hook it up to modern TVs, and the games are built-in.

Read More

Guest Column: How They Got Good: Tips on Learning Fighting Games from the Pros

Posted 07/14 21:46 in Reviews | 0comments

Guest Column: How They Got Good: Tips on Learning Fighting Games from the Pros

) But once you've got a little experience under your belt, what comes next?I asked a collection of high-level fighting game players for their tips on breaking new games down and leveling themselves up.

Read More

Guest Column: Visibility is Not Enough

Posted 06/25 17:51 in Reviews | 0comments

Guest Column: Visibility is Not Enough

The thing I hear, time and time again, is that it is important to be visibly queer.We are told, time and time again, that visibility will be transformative.

Read More

The Community Spotlight - 06/18/2016

Posted 06/19 08:21 in Reviews | 0comments

The Community Spotlight - 06/18/2016

Hello and welcome to the latest edition of the Giant Bomb Community Spotlight and I, @zombiepie, am once again honored to be your host this week.We have collectively survived that highs and lows of E3 2016 none the wiser and pining for its return next year!

Read More

E3 2016: What's Up With At E3 2016?

Posted 06/11 19:45 in Reviews | 0comments

E3 2016: What's Up With  At E3 2016?

I'm coming to you from Friday night, the night before my E3 2016 journey gets underway, and I haven't started packing yet.On one hand, it's insane that I'm spending time on PAX stuff when E3 is right around the corner.

Read More

Sony Confirms Playstation NEO, Won't Feature the Console at E3

Posted 06/10 19:23 in Reviews | 0comments

Sony Confirms Playstation NEO, Won't Feature the Console at E3

This news comes along with official confirmation of the NEO's existence via an interview with Sony Interactive Entertainment's Andrew House over at the Financial Times.It will be a "high-end PS4" that sells for over the current unit's $350 price tag, and will "sit alongside and complement the standard PS4" throughout the entire cycle of the PS4.

Read More

Guest Column: My Mother's Games

Posted 06/09 16:49 in Reviews | 0comments

Guest Column: My Mother's Games

That’s the story of the time my mother played Journey, the best and only place to start this piece.Say whatever you like, but I know exactly why the Sims became one of my mother’s favorite games.

Read More

The 8th Annual E3 Banner Contest

Posted 06/05 10:35 in Reviews | 0comments

The 8th Annual E3 Banner Contest

If you've been around this here video game website for a while, then you know that the moderators have been running this contest since 2009.If you're new, the contest asks the community to create the banners that will be placed at the top of each press conference's discussion thread in the forums.

Read More

Guest Column: The Strange, Wonderful, Non-Commercial Games of alt.ctrl.GDC

Posted 06/04 09:11 in Reviews | 0comments

Guest Column: The Strange, Wonderful, Non-Commercial Games of alt.ctrl.GDC

By virtue of their custom controllers, most of the games on display at alt.He has a passion for creating physical games which stems from a very hands-on curiosity and a desire to try to make truly different things in the digital space.

Read More

Nintendo Expands on E3 Streaming Plans

Posted 06/03 06:21 in Reviews | 0comments

Nintendo Expands on E3 Streaming Plans

The announcement stated that the Legend of Zelda for Wii U would be the only thing playable in Nintendo's E3 booth, and in place of the usual "Nintendo Direct" video, the company would instead do a day-long Zelda stream.It did also say that Nintendo would release more info on its E3 plans later, and today they've done exactly that.

Read More